# DISCIPLINARY REVIEW BOARD

#### OF THE

#### SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

LEE M. HYMERLING, ESQ., CHAIR
JAMES R. ZAZZALI, ESQ., VICE-CHAIR
HON. WARREN BRODY
MICHAEL R. COLE, ESQ.
RUTH JEAN LOLLA
MARY J. MAUDSLEY, ESQ.
ROCKY L. PETERSON, ESQ.
BARBARA F. SCHWARTZ
WILLIAM H. THOMPSON, D.D.S.



RICHARD J. HUGHES JUSTICE COMPLEX P. O. BOX 962 TRENTON, NEW JERSEY 08625-0962 (609) 292-1011

August 5, 1998

ROBYN M. HILL CHIEF COUNSEL

ISABEL FRANK
DEPUTY CHIEF COUNSEL

LILLIAN LEWIN
DONA S. SEROTA-TESCHNER
COLIN T. TAMS
ELLEN A. BRODSKY
ASSISTANT COUNSEL

## CERTIFIED MAIL, R.R.R. & REGULAR MAIL

Seymour Wasserstrum, Esq. 319 Landis Avenue Vineland, New Jersey 08360

RE:

In the Matter of Seymour Wasserstrum

Docket No. 98-173

**CORRECTED - LETTER OF ADMONITION** 

Dear Mr. Wasserstrum:

The Disciplinary Review Board has reviewed your conduct in the above matter and has concluded that it was improper. Specifically, on August 29, 1988 you were retained by Madeline Swelto to represent her in connection with personal injuries stemming from an automobile accident. You failed, however, to prepare a retainer agreement covering the contingent fee. Your conduct was unethical and in violation of R. 1:21-7 and RPC 1.5 (c).

Your conduct adversely reflected not only upon you as an attorney but also upon all members of the bar. Accordingly, the Board has directed the issuance of this admonition to you. Rule 1:20-15(f)(4).

A permanent record of this occurrence has been filed with the Clerk of the Supreme Court and the Board's office. Should you become the subject of any further discipline, it will be taken into consideration.

# Page Two In the Matter of Seymour Wasserstrum

The Board has also directed that the cost of the disciplinary proceedings be assessed against you. An affidavit of costs will be forwarded under separate cover.

Very truly yours,

By Robyn M. Hill

### RMH/emw

cc: Chief Justice Deborah T. Poritz

Associate Justices

Stephen W. Townsend, Esq.

Clerk, Supreme Court of New Jersey

Lee M. Hymerling, Esq.

Chair, Disciplinary Review Board

David E. Johnson, Jr., Esq.

Director, Office of Attorney Ethics

Edward J. Tucker, Chair

District I Ethics Committee

Frank L. Corrado, Secretary

District I Ethics Committee

Anthony J. Zarrillo, Jr.

Respondent's Counsel

Madeline Swelto, Grievant